Sarwat Iqbal


Favourite Thing: Getting cheaper and environmental friendly replacement of petroleum products.



Cardiff University



Work History:

Post doc in Cardiff University, Project leader at Avantium technologies Netherlands, Research Associate in Cardiff University.

Current Job:

Research Associate


Cardiff University

Me and my work

I am a chemistry scientist investigating the possibility of generation of clean fuel

I am PhD in chemistry, based in Cardiff. I have worked in industry for 2 years after the completion of my PhD, which was a great experience. In my current job I am working on biorenewables, specifically petroleum replacement molecules. My work involves a choice of cheap and clean feedstock (e.g., crops, left over parts of trees and plants), which can further be converted by catalysis magic into useful molecules. And these molecules could  replace the prtroleum products we have at present. This will help in getting a clean and environmental friendly atmospher 🙂

My Typical Day

I spend most of my time in laboratory where I investigate chemical processes

My typical day starts around 08:00 in office with a cup of tea. I go through my emails. Then I get in lab around 10:00, where I do experiments or collect data from previous day. I have a team of students who are working through their PhDs and Masters so after my lunch  I stop by them to see if they need any help with analysis of their data. Normally they have alot of new ideas which we discuss together and I help them in setting new experiments. I mostly have my own experiments running at same time, but if I am getting into a meeting I would ask them to look after my experiments as well. This way by the end of day we have data from all reactions and we discuss them in detail in our weekly meetings. I finish my day by 06:00PM.

What I'd do with the money

I would like to arrange a science exhibition for school students

It would be a great opportunity to get science students see the real chemical processes which lead to interesting discoveries.

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Patient, Humble, Friendly

Who is your favourite singer or band?

What's your favourite food?


What is the most fun thing you've done?

Travelling around Europe by car.

What did you want to be after you left school?

Become a medical doctore

Were you ever in trouble at school?


What was your favourite subject at school?


What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

Converted carbon monoxide into alcohols

What or who inspired you to become a scientist?

My A-level teacher – Miss Iffat

If you weren't a scientist, what would you be?

Most probably a teacher

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

getting famous, earning a lot of money, buying a Villa

Tell us a joke.

Two men are in a boat which is sinking. One asks the other how far is land, he replies 10 feet. The first guy jumps in water and asks loudly which way? The replier says down down downwards….

Other stuff

Work photos: